Latest News

Fun Summer Nights: Dana, 'Dirt Princess' Enjoy Bojangles' Summer Shootout Journey

Deegan (left) and Dana (right) bring differing backgrounds to the Bojangles Summer Shootout

CONCORD, N.C. (June 17, 2016) – Jessica Dana and Hailie Deegan traveled more than 2,400 miles to attend summer school, but the education the two West Coast girls will receive isn't the kind that comes from a book. Dana, an Olympia, Washington, native, and Deegan – a Temecula, California, native and the daughter of X Games freestyle motocross legend Brian Deegan – traveled east to get an on-track education in Legend Car competition during the Bojangles' Summer Shootout on Charlotte Motor Speedway's frontstretch quarter-mile.

Read Full Story
Volume 2016, Issue 6, Posted 1:52 PM, 06.20.2016

Hornish, Jr. Dominates Iowa XFINITY Race

Charlie Neibergall, AP

NEWTON, IA – RIS - Sam Hornish Jr., who hadn’t been in a car in seven months when he last drove for Richard Petty Motorsports, gave himself a perfect Father’s Day present on Sunday – a more than dominant victory in the sixth annual NASCAR XFINITY Series American Ethanol E15 250 presented by Enogen at Iowa SpeedwayHornish, who last competed in a NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race last November at Homestead-Miami Speedway, received a call Monday from Joe Gibbs Racing to substitute for injured driver Matt Tifft. He made the most of the opportunity, picking up his fourth career XFINITY Series win and second at Iowa. Overall, it was JGR’s ninth triumph in 14 races this season.. 

Read Full Story
Volume 2016, Issue 6, Posted 12:22 AM, 06.20.2016

Byron Triumphant For Second Truck Series Win in a Row

Getty Images

AMES, Iowa – RIS – William Byron took the lead on the final restart to claim his second straight win in the Camping World Truck Series at Iowa Speedway.  The 18-year old rookie won at Texas Motor Speedway last week and has three wins in 2016. 

Read Full Story
Volume 2016, Issue 6, Posted 12:31 AM, 06.19.2016

A New Unser Triumphant at Indy

The Unser family - Al, Al Jr., and Bobby - has taken nine victories on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway's famed 2.5-mile oval. Today, Bobby's son Robbie joined the ranks of Unsers Victorious at Indy, this time on the 2.43-mile road course.

Unser joined Andre Ahrle in the seat of his 1965 Cobra CompR 427 sports car in today's running of the Indy Legends Celebrity Charity Vintage Pro/Am, staged by the Sportscar Vintage Racing Association's Brickyard Vintage Racing Invitational on the IMS 2.43-mile infield road course.

The Unser/Ahrle duo completed the 25-lap pro/am event ahead of the hard-charging 1965 Mustang GT350 combo of Gary Moore and Paul Tracy.


Read Full Story
Volume 2016, Issue 6, Posted 4:44 PM, 06.18.2016

INDYCAR - Firestone 600 stopped by rain after 71 laps, will be completed Aug. 27

FORT WORTH, Texas (Sunday, June 12, 2016) - The Firestone 600 will have to wait another day for its completion. Another two months, in fact.

The scheduled 248-lap event at Texas Motor Speedway - the ninth race of the 2016 Verizon IndyCar Series season - was stopped after 71 laps today by heavy rain. INDYCAR and track officials announced that the race was suspended and will be completed Aug. 27 as a night race.

"We certainly want to come back and have a full race for the fans here in Texas," said Jay Frye, INDYCAR president of competition and operations. "The people at TMS do a great job, so what we will do, per our rulebook, is start the race from where we stopped. So we will come back and start the race from that point.

Read Full Story
Volume 2016, Issue 6, Posted 9:54 AM, 06.13.2016

Logano Wins FireKeeper Casino 400 For First Win of 2016

Getty Images

JACKSON, MI – RIS -For a driver to win the most races and nearly claim a Sprint Cup championship a year ago, it seemed unfathomable that he would be winless after nearly half the 2016 season.  Joey Logano took care of that on Sunday as he held off rookie Chase Elliott and Kyle Larson to win the FireKeepers Casino 400 at Michigan International Speedway.  It was the 50th win for Team Penske with Ford.  It was Ford’s 642nd all-time win in the Sprint Cup Series and Logano’s 15th of his career.

Read Full Story
Volume 2016, Issue 6, Posted 8:06 PM, 06.12.2016

Daniel Suarez Wins First Career Xfinity Race at Michigan

Getty Images

JACKSON, MI - RIS - Daniel Suarez won his first career NASCAR XFINITY Series race by passing Kyle Busch with two laps to go at Michigan Interntaional Speedway.  Suarez, driving a Joe Gibbs Racing prepared Toyota Camry, was the point leader coming into the race.  It was a major victory for the young driver from Mexico.

Read Full Story
Volume 2016, Issue 6, Posted 1:00 AM, 06.12.2016

NHRA Announces 2017 Mello Yello Drag Racing Series Schedule

Wednesday, June 08, 2016 - The 2017 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series schedule has been announced by NHRA officials. The 24-race circuit continues to reach more U.S. markets than any other major motorsports series and will once again thrill millions of fans with its unique brand of high-horsepower entertainment that features photo finishes by the world’s fastest race cars that dazzle with speeds in the 330-mph zone.

Read Full Story
Volume 2016, Issue 6, Posted 5:29 PM, 06.09.2016

Kurt Busch Takes Rain-Delayed Pocono

(LONG POND, PA – JUNE 6, 2016 – RIS) Mileage wars determined the outcome of another NASCAR race at Pocono, with Kurt Busch leading the final laps and saving fuel for a big burnout celebration after taking the checkered flag ahead of Dale Earnhardt Jr, Brad Keselowski, Chase Elliott and Joey Logano. Rookie Elliott led the most laps, at 51, until the final round of pit stops. Busch won the race with his regular crew chief Tony Gibson suspended for the weekend after a loose lugnut at the previous race and Johnny Klausmeier on the box as interim chief in his first time calling a race. "Well it's special anytime you win. For Tony Gibson (crew chief) to be out this week because of a lug nut issue we had to overcome a lot. Johnny Klausmeier our interim crew chief, our lead engineer, he stepped up and when you do that it makes you really feel about that team comradery, that team chemistry and that team effort," said Busch.

Read Full Story
Volume 2016, Issue 6, Posted 5:14 PM, 06.06.2016